Sleepless.

IMG_2154

I try to sleep
By counting sheep,
One two four
A few dozen more
And off I doze
Off to bed
At once;
For once it’s early, and,
Early will I rise
Fresh, like bread.
I feel
Like Jesus
To resurrect and heal
Miseries of all kinds.
But I can’t.
Wakefulness greets me.
Sleep, my lover
Has been torn apart
As if a part of me has died,
But I am alive,
Up and running in fields of tomorrow
So that I can go and bury my sorrow
But I can’t.
I can’t escape the tyranny
That these omens
Have lashed upon
My eyes on the inside.
These visions
That I create
Create what I can’t see.
Or maybe I don’t want to face,
That face which I run from.
Run away, far away,
So that I cannot be caught.
I dig a hole
Sixty feet deep
For sorrows and miseries, old
That lie in a heap, tenfold
That load
Is about to implode.
I have to hurry,
As the chase with reality’s clock,
Is a race I’m destined to lose.
I prepare to fall from an unfathomable
Distance on to my bed
Pick up from where I left yesterday
Until I start over again
At the end of today,
To chase a new dream.

2 thoughts on “Sleepless.

Leave a comment